top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThuyen Pham

April BOTM: Shatter Me

I have a curse

I have a gift


I am a monster

I'm more than human


My touch is lethal

My touch is power


I am their weapon

I will fight back


Who and what Juliette Ferras is - it depends on how society and she herself view her. Because of her special ability, her touch paralyzes and takes away living organisms' lives. And her accidence of killing a young boy sent her life into a cell by the general government - the Reestablishment. Scared. Self-hatred. Would her life be changed if she met someone who can survive her touch? Would she be able to find her confidence? Life is not about being determined by others, and a person could be changed by love and self-belief.


Shatter Me, written by Tahereh Mafi, is the first book of the six-book series which revolves around the life and the dystopian society of Juliette Ferras. Tahereh Mafi is an American author, who has varying levels of competency in eight different languages, including Spanish. Throughout her career, Mafi's book A Very Large Expanse of Sea was longlisted for the 2018 National Book Awards for Young People's Literature.




Cited Sources:

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page